Quick Search:

Advanced Search
Stuyvesant Town
Stuyvesant Town-Peter Cooper Village is a large private residential development located on the Lower East Side of New York City's borough of Manhattan. It is considered to be one of the most renowned and prosperous post-Second World War private housing communities. Stuyvesant Town, referred to by its residents as "Stuy Town", was named after Peter Stuyvesant, the last Director-General of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, and whose farm was situated on the site in the seventeenth-century. Peter Cooper Village is named after the 19th century industrialist, inventor, and philanthropist Peter Cooper, who was most recognized for being the founder Cooper Union. The iconic residential complex, which was planned starting in 1942 and then first opened in 1947, replaced the old Gas House district.

The complex is an expansive assortment of red brick apartment buildings stretching from First Avenue to Avenue C, between 14th and 23rd Streets. It covers approximately 80 acres of land. The development situated between 14th and 20th Streets, Stuyvesant Town, has 8,757 apartments in 35 residential buildings, and along with its sister development, Peter Cooper Village - located between 20th and 23rd Streets - has a combined 56 residential buildings, 11,250 apartments, and over 25,000 residents.

The combined development is bordered by the East River and Avenue C on the east, the Gramercy Park neighborhood on the west, the East Village and Alphabet City to the south, and Kips Bay to the north. The encompassing area to the west is notable for including the historic Stuyvesant Square, a two-block park flanked by the old Stuyvesant High School, Saint George's Church, and Beth Israel Medical Center. The complex continues to be one of the most revered and successful residential developments found in New York City.